Dancing Queen

Only 75% of the children my friend has taken out today have been her own and 50% of them are mine, quite frankly I think she’s mad! And I’m a little bit envious too.  I have never been someone who loves and adores doing childlike activities or can satisfy a hoard of children while baking a cake and producing a fantastic, clean, up to the minute environment while looking like a million dollars. One of those tasks exhausts me.  But she is with them now, loving every moment and I am so grateful to have a friend who wants nothing in return for doing this for me. She finds it relaxing, shes natural at it and although I adore my children, I’m just not.

Which leads me to wonder, what do I like and what am I good at, what does get me excited? Glamour and Dancing! Yep, hard to imagine by looking at me, but I love everything about it. The glitter, the glamour the sheer athletic ability of a great dancer, it fascinates me beyond belief. I loved it as a child when I had ballet lessons in a musty church hall with a very sloshed looking lady playing the very plinky piano. The dusky pink shoes with those gorgeous criss cross ribbons were so precious to me I longed for Saturday mornings where I would be transported to another world. Sadly the slightly dotty Miss Debbie told my mother I was too large to ever get any where, crushing my hopes of ever being the first prima ballerina from Great Yarmouth but I still carry on loving it. My mum and dad took me to the theatre to see every ballet going and I loved dressing up and using the opera glasses.The story was sometimes a mystery but it was the beauty and escapism of the whole thing that I adored.

These days I am the first one up to swing my pants at a party and anything danced based gets me excited. I have secretly started burlesque dancing, the ultimate in glamour and elegance. There is no ‘getting them out’ for this old lady but the strutting about in a gorgeous manner was made for me, if only I was 20 years younger, I would shout it from the roof tops that I have found my ‘thing’, and actually Miss Debbie I am totally fabulous.

1 thought on “Dancing Queen

Leave a comment